St Andrew's C of E (VA) Primary

Close
CLOSE

Reception blog

Show list Show Grid
  • Friday 13 November 2020 Remembrance In Literacy this week we explored the book Where The Poppies Now Grow by Hilary Robinson and Martin Impey. Thinking about Remembrance day and the meaning of Peace. Reception were able to explain the story in their own ways, referring to before and after the war as 'light' and the war as 'dark'. With peace our value this month, Reception were asked to think about what makes them feel peaceful. Every child explained what they feel peaceful doing, explanations varied from cuddling our mummies and daddies, coming to school and watching TV! Having printed poppies; we practised our mark making and writing skills on our peaceful poppy photos. We have been very busy this week reflecting on Remembrance day, peace and using our phonics to write!
  • Tuesday 27 October 2020 Culture Week! For the final week of our first term at school, we have been celebrating all things culture! We have learnt about the differences between families and what makes us unique. Throughout the week we created traditional decorations and learnt about the reason behind them.We travelled around the activities using our culture week passports, 'visiting' India, China, Ireland and Ghana!Celebration day! To finish our week, we came into school dressed in our families traditional dress with an artefact to talk about our families. We started the day dancing to celebration music from all around the world.In small groups we shared our artefacts and outfits! We even had some twinning outfits!
  • Thursday 1 October 2020 Starting School September has been such a big month for the Reception! Starting full time school, making new friends and learning new routines.On our first day at school we found out how tall we are. I cannot wait to see how much the children grow throughout the year!¬†We have displayed our own interests and are exploring our new environment.Using our life experiences to recreate role play.Enjoying 'barbeques' with our new friends.Creating our own 'camp fire'.Then experiencing our own camp fire in forest school - with added popcorn!
  • Wednesday 15 July 2020 Bog Babies in Year One This week, we explored the pond to look for some bog babies! Sadly, we didn't find any bog babies although we did find lots of newts and pond creatures. But look at these wonderful bog babies from our classroom...  
  • Wednesday 8 July 2020 Wild things in Year One.... Beware! There are some very wild things in Year One...  We have been learning all about Where the Wild Things Are and have used different materials to create our own wild things. Look how creative we have been!
  • Tuesday 30 June 2020 Looking for a bog baby!
  • Wednesday 24 June 2020 Where the Wild Things Are
  • Friday 19 June 2020 DID YOU KNOW...?
  • Friday 12 June 2020 National Smile Power Day
  • Friday 5 June 2020 Bird Watching
  • Friday 15 May 2020 Animals
  • Thursday 7 May 2020 VE Day
  • Friday 1 May 2020 Daisy Chains
  • Wednesday 22 April 2020 Baking
  • Friday 3 April 2020 Easter!
  • Friday 27 March 2020 Growing!
  • Tuesday 4 February 2020 Growing our own beanstalks!
  • Wednesday 29 January 2020 Writing our own book!
  • Monday 13 January 2020 Traditional Tales
  • Sunday 15 December 2019 Nativity
  • Wednesday 11 December 2019 Our Trip to St Albans Cathedral
  • Wednesday 6 November 2019 Outdoor Learning Day
  • Monday 21 October 2019 Culture Week!
  • Thursday 17 October 2019 Anna Hibiscus' Song
  • Thursday 10 October 2019 Following our own interests!
  • Friday 6 September 2019 Meeting our Buddies!
  • Wednesday 4 September 2019 Our first day of School
  • Wednesday 4 September 2019 Welcome to Reception
  • Friday 18 January 2019 Who goes there...?
  • Friday 19 October 2018 The circus comes to Reception!
  • View archived news items

Subscribe to our news as an RSS feed